The liberalisation of the energy market has required a thorough revision of the agreements between Electrabel and the municipalities brought together within Sibelga. The partners have therefore decided to amend the intermunicipal company's existing contract in order to achieve a new balance between the municipalities and Electrabel.

  • On its foundation in 2003, Sibelga's capital was owned equally by the 19 municipalities (50%) and Electrabel (50%).
  • From 31 December 2006, the municipalities owned 70% of the capital.
  • Since 31 December 2012, the municipalities have owned 100% of the capital.

Breakdown and development of Sibelga's shareholding structure